Friday, June 20, 2014

No. 000027 Francis Howell School District follows the law and refuses Normandy Transfers for 2014-15

Transfer Update 06/20/14 - Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Francis Howell School District

The Francis Howell School District announced Friday, June 20, 2014, that it will follow Board of Education Policy 2240 and will no longer accept nonresident tuition-paying students. Therefore, Normandy transfer students will return to the newly formed Normandy School Collaborative for the 2014-15 school year.

On May 20, 2014, the Missouri State Board of Education, acting under authority provided in Senate Bill 125, voted to lapse the Normandy School District effective June 30, 2014, and create a new district, the Normandy Schools Collaborative effective July 1, 2014. The State Board of Education, in action taken on June 16, 2014, changed the accreditation status of the new NSC effectively removing the legal requirement for districts to accept Normandy transfer students. Due to this change, FHSD will follow its board policy and no longer accept nonresident tuition-paying students. This change will include any Normandy student who attended FHSD during the 2013-14 school year.

FHSD has consistently held the beliefs that transferring students from an unaccredited school district is not the solution to improving struggling schools, and that the funds spent on tuition and transportation for transfer students can be more effectively spent on educating the whole Normandy student population. Children have a right and a need to have quality schools in their neighborhood.

FHSD will work closely with the NSC to make the transition as smooth as possible for the affected students and families.